SA TROTS - INDUSTRY & MEDIA RELEASE - Australian Drivers' Championship

Harness Racing South Australia is thrilled to announce the recommencement of the Australian Drivers’ Championship, at Globe Derby Park.
A spring date has been set for the championship, Saturday evening September 17. This will be the first running of the event since 2019, due to the pandemic.

This is a great coup for the local industry in South Australia, and HRSA CEO Dean Elliott is buoyant about the prospect of relaunching the event “This is a wonderful announcement, with many thanks to Harness Racing Australia for their support in relaunching such an important event on the calendar. Our local industry will embrace this opportunity to have a national spotlight on the state, which is all about celebrating Australian Harness Racing and some of its best drivers.” He goes on to say, “Cementing a spring date without any major clashes on the national schedule was also an important feature to achieve, which will ensure that some of our best drivers go head-to-head at Globe Derby, a track that rewards tactical brilliance and provides viewers with a dynamic style of racing.”

Below are some features of the championship, with more announcements and details to come throughout July.

➢ Each state to be represented by two (2) drivers of their choice, totalling twelve (12) representatives
➢ Eight (8) Championship races, with each driver allocated six (6) drives on a random draw basis
➢ Nine (9) horses + emergencies per race
➢ Up to four (4) additional races on the program
➢ Each state to sport their own sets of racing colours
➢ The winning driver will have the opportunity to be nominated for the 2023 World Drivers’ Championship in Italy
➢ Prizemoney offered will exceed Saturday maximum levels
➢ Each championship race will be penalty free, and open to horses trained within and outside of SA

Australian Drivers’ Championship Honour Roll

2019 Gary Hall Jnr (WA)
2018 Todd McCarthy (NSW)
2017 Chris Alford (VIC)
2016 Wayne Hill (SA)
2015 Grant Dixon (QLD)
2014 Peter McMullen (QLD)

For further comment, please contact HRSA CEO Dean Elliott via or (08) 8285 0725.

South Australia’s Wayne Hill was the Australian Drivers‘ Championship winner in 2016.

Photos courtesy Walter Bulyga