SA TROTS Media Release Battle Of The Best Drivers Announced

HRSA is excited to announce the drivers for both teams competing in the Battle of the Best Invitation Challenge on Saturday January 28 at Globe Derby.

Five SA female drivers and five SA male drivers (based on 2022 SA premiership results) have accepted invitations to compete in this series, with drivers earning points for their respective teams.

Team Pink
Dani Hill
Gaita Pullicino
Samantha Pascoe
Tiana McMahon
Lisa Ryan
Reserve: Leah Holman

Team Blue
Ryan Hryhorec
Wayne Hill
Michael Smith
Corey Johnson
Dean Girardi
Reserve: David Smith

A total of Six Drivers Invitation races have been programmed for prizemoney of $7,000 with all Drivers Invitation Races to be Ratings Exempt races. Please note there are additional non-invitation races programmed for this meeting.

HRSA CEO Dean Elliott acknowledges the talent pool of drivers in the SA ranks currently and says “This concept is a wonderful way to pay tribute to a number of our leading drivers in SA, with an opportunity for them to compete in a format that should spark some interest within not only the driving ranks but also via trainers and owners given the additional rating exempt prizemoney on offer.” He goes on to say, “racing is one of very few sports where women and men compete on a level playing field, and I’m sure both teams will be keen to secure bragging rights for what we hope to be a permanent annual fixture.”

Drivers will be allocated to a runner by ballot, as per the Australian Drivers Championships format.
The full program for this meeting is available online on the HRA website. The points system along with any further information will be advised in due course.