SA Horse of the Year Nominees – 2021



Harness Racing SA is pleased to announce the finalists for each category in the 2021 South Australian Horse of the Year awards.  The awards are a celebration of local industry excellence, recognising both those horses and participants who excelled throughout the 2021 racing season. Many thanks to our panel our 9 industry experts for submitting their votes.


The finalists (listed alphabetically) in each category are:


2YO Pacing Filly                                                                  2YO Pacing Colt/Gelding

Big Black Betty                                                                       Art Jester

Coco Mia                                                                                 Ever Hoping

Honeybun                                                                                Jawsoflincoln

Im Princess Bella                                                                    Partyatthebeach

In Play                                                                        


3YO Pacing Filly                                                                   3YO Pacing Colt/Gelding

Dancing Finn                                                                           Artillery

Pebblesonthebeach                                                                Justanextragrand

The Sneaky Fox                                                                     Major Reason

Tiddly Winx                                                                             Royal Speech

                                                                                                Springfield Affair                    


4YO+ Pacing Mares                                                              4YO+ Pacing Entires/Gelding

Ammicchi                                                                                Brantley NZ

Delightful GNP NZ                                                                  Jimmy Mack NZ

In Shoobees Shoes                                                                Joes A Character

Paige One                                                                               Steam Cleaned

Polly Put Kettleon                                                                   Stratofortress NZ

Rosiano                                                                                   Van Mara NZ



2YO Trotters                                                                          3YO Trotters

Aldebaran Dexta                                                                     Aldebaran Dianna

Graywoods Diamond                                                              Hammer Son

Zeuses Vengeance                                                                 Lovelorn

                                                                                                My Used To Be


4YO & Older Trotting Mares                                               4YO+ Trotting Entires/Gelding

Caabello                                                                                  CK Spur NZ

Ceejay Success                                                                      Galleons Victory NZ

Gatesys Alley                                                                          Miracle Rising NZ

Millys Magic                                                                            Regal Assassin NZ

Nerveracking                                                                           Runaway Success

                                                                                                Scruffy Doolan


Broodmare of the Year


Anna Finn NZ

Our Cavort NZ

Sparks Ignite

Steam Washed NZ


The following awards will also be presented:

Nevada Smoke Special Achievement Award, Jim Hurley Medal, Chair’s Award as well as SA Leading Young Driver, SA Leading Concession Driver, SA Leading State Driver, SA Leading State Trainer, SA Claimer of the Year, SA Leading State Horse, Media Award and the overall 2021 Horse Of The Year.


The 2021 Horse Of The Year event will be held at the Mawson Lakes Hotel on Friday May 20th 2022 at 7:00pm.

Tickets are $50 which include a 3 course meal along with a complimentary drink voucher.


For further information, or to book a table please contact Leanne Ewen on (08) 8285 0700 or by email