Harness Racing SA Board Email: hrsadirectors@saharness.org.au

Carlo D’Ortenzio



Mr D’Ortenzio is a C-suite executive with a career spanning over three decades in private and public sectors and across multiple jurisdictions, including private practice.

Academically trained in finance, law and management, he is an accomplished business leader with a strong background in strategic planning, financial management, and corporate governance.

Currently employed as Chief Operating Officer of a large Public Corporation, he has been instrumental in developing and implementing sustainable commercial strategies and implementing enterprise-wide change management practices. He has previously held directorships in transport, tourism, higher education and health sectors. 


  • Commenced 1/10/21

Heath Pocock

Finance Director

Mr. Pocock is an experienced finance professional with experience in the sporting industry and private practice.

With qualifications including a Bachelor of Commerce from University of South Australia, Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and MBA Qualified through Torrens University he is a business manager with a strong skillset in financial management, business operations, people management and governance.

Currently employed in the sporting industry he has experience and knowledge in implementing financial policy and procedures, reporting frameworks and business analysis.

  • Commenced 1/10/21

Scott Barclay

 Business Director

Mr Barclay has a strong business acumen with over 15 years business experience working for some of Australia’s largest building products manufacturers, working across various levels of management.  Mr Barclay has a strong understanding of governance and is a member and a graduate of company directors course through the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is MBA qualified through the University of Adelaide. 

Scott currently holds another Board position as Chair of the Adelaide Showgrounds Farmers Market in association with the Royal Agriculture & Horticulture Society based at Wayville Showgrounds.


  • Commenced: October 2018

Chris Illman

Marketing Director

South Australian born and bred, holding a Bachelor of Economics from the Flinders University and a Master of Marketing from the Melbourne business school, Chris has spent over 25 years in the FMCG and Liquor industries working in senior Sales and Marketing roles at blue chip global companies including Kraft Foods International, Fosters Group, Southcorp and most recently Head of Sales & Marketing at the Bickfords Group of Companies. Chris possesses a thorough knowledge of the key drivers for success in building brands and entrepreneurial businesses in the Food and Beverage sector.  

 Chris currently holds another board position with Prepd Hydration and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

  • Commenced 1/10/22

Jasen Murray

Legal Director

Harness Racing SA Executive

Dean Elliott

 Chief Executive Officer


Trevor Styles

Chairman of Stewards


David Thuen

Racing Operations Manager